How to Unblock Someone on Facebook

Introduction

Facebook is a great way to stay up to date with what your friends and family are doing. However, over time, there are some people you have disagreements or other types of falling outs with, and as a result you end up blocking them on Facebook. But, time heals all wounds, and if the day comes where you want to unblock some of those people so you can resume seeing their posts and communicate with them through Facebook, Facebook makes it easy to unblock those people. Additionally, it’s important to remember that when you unblock someone on Facebook that individual could see posts on your timeline or reach out to you, depending how your Settings are configured. Also, any tags you previously had associated with that person may be restored. And finally, if you have instant regret about unblocking someone, you can’t block that person again for 48 hours. Examples of all instructions in the steps can be seen in the YouTube video below.

YouTube player

Steps to Unblock Someone on Facebook

  1. Launch the Facebook app on your iPhone, iPad or Android device, and then tap the “Menu” icon on your Facebook home screen. The Menu screen is displayed.
  2. Scroll down, and then tap to expand “Settings and Privacy.” Tap “Settings” in the expanded menu. You’ll be taken to the Account Settings screen.
  3. Tap “Blocking” in the Privacy section. The Blocking screen will be displayed, showing you a list of all of the people you’ve blocked on Facebook.
  4. Tap “Unblock” next to the Facebook contact you want to unblock. An Unblock dialog box appears, asking if you’re sure you want to unblock this contact on Facebook. Tap “Unblock.” You’ll return to the Blocking screen, where that person’s name will no longer appear, confirming that they are no longer blocked on Facebook. Again, it’s important to remember that when you unblock someone on Facebook that individual could see posts on your timeline or reach out to you, depending how your Settings are configured. Also, any tags you previously had associated with that person may be restored. And finally, if you have instant regret about unblocking someone, you can’t block that person again for 48 hours.

About Max

Max has nearly 20 years of experience working in IT across three different industries in project management and management capacities: publishing, telecommunications and healthcare. He holds the following degrees and certifications: BS Communications, MA Communications, MBA and Project Management Professional (PMP). His tutorial-focused YouTube channel earned more than 100,000 subscribers in its first four years, and currently has more than 160,000 subscribers, 110,000,000 video views and an insane 2.4 million hours of watch time. Max enjoys learning new technology, reading and collecting comic books, listening to audiobooks and playing video games.

This article contains affiliate links, which means that if you click one of the product links I may receive a small commission. This helps support my content, and enables me to continue creating content like this. Thank you for the support!