How to Turn Off Location on Google Chrome

YouTube player

Introduction

The ability for Google Chrome to access your location is enabled by default when it’s installed on a new device. That location access enables the web browser to find nearby businesses and restaurants that are near you whenever you perform searches. If you don’t feel comfortable with Google Chrome being able to access your location, you can easily turn it off. In this article I’ll show you how to turn off location access for Google Chrome on your iPhone, iPad and Android device, and also in the desktop version of the web browser. Examples of all instructions in the steps can be seen in both the YouTube video above and the image collection located beneath the steps.

Shop Valentine's Day Deals on Amazon and save up to 50%!

Steps to Turn Off Location Access in Google Chrome Desktop Browser

  1. Launch the Google Chrome desktop browser and then click the vertical ellipses at the top of the screen to open a menu, then click “Settings” in the menu. The Settings screen is displayed.
  2. Scroll down to the Privacy and Security section, and then click “Site Settings.” The Site Settings window is shown.
  3. Click “Location” in the Permission section. The Location window is displayed.
  4. Click the toggle next to Ask Before Accessing to turn it off. That message will change to Blocked, which means that Google can no longer access your location.

Steps to Turn Off Location Access in Google Chrome on Android

  1. Launch Google Chrome on your Android device, and then tap the vertical ellipses at the top of the screen to open a menu.
  2. Tap “Settings” in the menu. The Settings screen is displayed.
  3. Tap “Site Settings” in this menu. The Site Settings screen is shown.
  4. Tap “Location” in this menu. The Location window opens.
  5. Tap to turn off the toggle associated with “Location.” Google Chrome will now be blocked from accessing your location going forward.

Steps to Turn Off Location Access in Google Chrome on iPhone and iPad

  1. Tap to launch the Settings app, and then tap “Chrome” in the Settings menu. The Google Chrome settings screen is shown.
  2. Tap “Location.” The Location window is displayed.
  3. Tap to place a check mark next to “Never” to never allow Google Chrome to access your location on your iPhone or iPad.
Shop Amazon's Deal of the Day and save up to 50%!

All Tutorial Categories

About Max

Max has nearly 20 years of experience working in IT across three different industries in project management and management capacities: publishing, telecommunications and healthcare. He holds the following degrees and certifications: BS Communications, MA Communications, MBA and Project Management Professional (PMP). His tutorial-focused YouTube channel earned more than 100,000 subscribers in its first four years, and currently has more than 160,000 subscribers, 110,000,000 video views and an insane 2.4 million hours of watch time. Max enjoys learning new technology, reading and collecting comic books, listening to audiobooks and playing video games.

This article contains affiliate links, which means that if you click one of the product links I may receive a small commission. This helps support my content, and enables me to continue creating content like this. Thank you for the support!