Whether you’re meeting friends or family members at a specific location, or you just want to make sure a loved one can easily see where you are, Apple makes it easy for you to share your location with others on your iPhone. After sharing your location, those individuals can use the Find My app to see where you’re at on a map. The only caveat is that you can only share your location with other iPhone users. In this article I’ll show you how to both share and stop sharing your location on an Apple iPhone. Examples of all instructions in the steps can be seen in both the YouTube video above and the image collection located beneath the steps.
Steps to Share Location on iPhone
- Tap to launch the Find My app on your iPhone. The Find My home screen is shown.
- Tap “Share My Location,” and then enter the contacts or phone numbers you want to share your location with. As a reminder, you can only share your location with other iPhone users. Tap “Send” after entering the people you want to share your location with. If location sharing isn’t enabled on your iPhone you’ll see a dialog box letting you know and prompting you to turn it on. Tap “Settings” if you see that dialog box. The Find My settings screen will be displayed.
- Make sure the Share My Location toggle is turned on. Tap the “Back” button after adjusting these settings to navigate back to the Find My screen where you’ll now see the list of people you’re sharing your iPhone location with.
Steps to Stop Sharing Location on iPhone
- Launch the Find My app and then tap the person in the People list you want to stop sharing your iPhone location with. An information screen for what you’re sharing with that person is shown.
- Tap “Stop Sharing My Location.” A dialog box is displayed asking if you’re sure you want to stop sharing your location with this person. Tap “Stop Sharing Location” again. That person will no longer be able to see your iPhone location.