How to Factory Reset a Locked Amazon Fire

Introduction

Putting either a passcode or password on your Amazon Fire tablet is a great way to keep unwanted people out of your tablet — unless you forget the passcode to get into your locked device. If your device is registered with your Amazon account, you’ll have the ability to reset your passcode or password using your Amazon account. But if your device isn’t registered to your Amazon account, your only option will be to restore your Amazon Fire to its default factory settings, which I’ll show you how to do from the lock screen. The good news is that after you factory reset your Amazon Fire device, you can restore it from the last backup of your device that was created and stored in Amazon’s cloud.

Some of the images associated with the steps are included inline below. All images associated with these steps can be seen in the embedded YouTube video. Also, please note that you’re not able to leave a comment directly on this article. If you have a question or feedback, please leave it on the YouTube video.

YouTube player
Shop Valentine's Day Deals on Amazon and save up to 50%!

Steps to Factory Reset a Locked Amazon Fire

  1. Swipe up on your Amazon Fire lock screen to view either the password or PIN code entry screen.
  2. Enter your password or PIN code wrong five times. You’ll receive a Wrong PIN or Wrong Password message for the first four entries, before an Incorrect Password message is displayed on the screen. If you have an Amazon account associated with your Amazon Fire, you’ll see a Reset Password option. If there isn’t an Amazon account associated with your Amazon Fire, the only option you’ll see is to perform a factory reset that will return the device to its default factory settings.
  1. Tap “Tap Here to Perform a Factory Reset.” A Factory Reset Your Device window is shown on the screen, prompting you to enter the digits associated with the words displayed.
  1. Enter the digits associated with the words, and then tap “Reset Device.” A message letting you know that your Amazon Fire is being deregistered from your account is displayed. Eventually this message will disappear and your Amazon Fire will reboot, booting up to the first screen in the setup process where you’re prompted to choose the language you want your Amazon Fire to operate in. This indicates that your tablet has been deregistered from your Amazon account and restored to the default factory settings.

Reasons You May Need to Reset a Locked Amazon Fire

1. Forgot Amazon Fire Password or PIN.

Forgetting the password or PIN to your Amazon Fire tablet can be frustrating, especially if you have important files or documents stored on the device. It’s natural to feel anxious when you can’t access your device, but the good news is that you can reset your Amazon Fire tablet and regain access. It’s always a good idea to keep a backup of your password or PIN in a safe place or use a password manager to avoid this situation in the future.

2. Amazon Fire Locked with Previous Owner Password or PIN

Purchasing a used Amazon Fire tablet can be a great way to save money, but it can also come with its own set of challenges. One common issue is that the tablet may be locked with the previous owner’s password or PIN. In this situation, the only way to access the device is by resetting it. Once you reset the tablet, you will be able to set up a new account and password, making it your own.

3. Amazon Fire Malfunctioning

Sometimes, your Amazon Fire tablet may malfunction and refuse to unlock with the correct password or PIN. This can be frustrating, especially if you need to access your device urgently. In this situation, resetting your tablet may be the only option. Resetting the tablet will erase all data, but it may be the only way to regain access to the device.

4. Erase All Data Before Giving Away

If you plan on giving away or selling your Amazon Fire tablet, it’s important to erase all personal data and settings from the device. This will ensure that your personal information does not fall into the wrong hands. Resetting the tablet is the best way to erase all data and settings from the device. Once you have reset the tablet, it will be as if you just took it out of the box.

Shop Amazon's Deal of the Day and save up to 50%!

All Tutorial Categories

About Max

Max has nearly 20 years of experience working in IT across three different industries in project management and management capacities: publishing, telecommunications and healthcare. He holds the following degrees and certifications: BS Communications, MA Communications, MBA and Project Management Professional (PMP). His tutorial-focused YouTube channel earned more than 100,000 subscribers in its first four years, and currently has more than 160,000 subscribers, 110,000,000 video views and an insane 2.4 million hours of watch time. Max enjoys learning new technology, reading and collecting comic books, listening to audiobooks and playing video games.

This article contains affiliate links, which means that if you click one of the product links I may receive a small commission. This helps support my content, and enables me to continue creating content like this. Thank you for the support!