How to Delete WordPress.com Account

Introduction

Whether you no longer use a WordPress.com account you created, or you started a different account and no longer need this one, deleting your WordPress.com account is quick and easy. Take caution, however, as deleting your WordPress.com account permanently deletes all of its associated sites and their content and cannot be undone. To be clear, this article will not show you how to delete a WordPress.org account, and if that’s what you’re looking for you need to reach out to your WordPress hosting provider.

Some of the images associated with the steps are included inline below. All images associated with these steps can be seen in the embedded YouTube video. Also, please note that you’re not able to leave a comment directly on this article. If you have a question or feedback, please leave it on the YouTube video.

YouTube player

Steps to Delete WordPress.com Account

  1. Open a web browser, navigate to WordPress.com, and then sign in to the WordPress account you want to delete.
  2. Click your profile icon at the top of the screen. Your WordPress account menu is displayed on the left side of the screen.
  3. Click “Account Settings” in the menu on the left side of the screen. Account Settings options are shown on the right side of the screen.

  1. Scroll down to the bottom of this screen and then click “Close Your Account Permanently.” The next screen lets you know that closing your WordPress account can’t be undone, and that it will remove your account along with all of your sites and all of their content.

  1. Click “Close Account.” A window is shown asking if you’re sure you want to delete your WordPress account.

  1. Click “Continue.”

Another window is shown asking you to type your account name in a field to continue, and then click “Close Your Account.” A message is displayed letting you know that your WordPress.com account has been closed.

Reasons You May Want to Delete Your WordPress.com Account

1. No Longer Using Your Website or Blog

If you’ve decided to move on from your WordPress.com website or blog, it’s time to say goodbye. Closing your account removes all your content from the internet. Keeping an inactive site up can give a bad impression to potential visitors and dilutes your online presence.

2. Privacy Concerns

Protecting your personal information is important, and sometimes you may find that WordPress.com is not the right platform for you in this regard. Deleting your account removes any personal data that you have shared with WordPress.com.

3. Cost Issues

If you’re facing cost issues with your WordPress.com subscription, it may be more financially feasible to close your account. This will allow you to explore other website-building options that better fit your budget.

4. Better Platform Identified

If you’ve found a better platform for your website or blog, it may be time to make the switch. Closing your WordPress.com account after you migrate any content will allow you to fully invest in your new platform and maximize its benefits.

All Tutorial Categories

About Max

Max has nearly 20 years of experience working in IT across three different industries in project management and management capacities: publishing, telecommunications and healthcare. He holds the following degrees and certifications: BS Communications, MA Communications, MBA and Project Management Professional (PMP). His tutorial-focused YouTube channel earned more than 100,000 subscribers in its first four years, and currently has more than 160,000 subscribers, 110,000,000 video views and an insane 2.4 million hours of watch time. Max enjoys learning new technology, reading and collecting comic books, listening to audiobooks and playing video games.

This article contains affiliate links, which means that if you click one of the product links I may receive a small commission. This helps support my content, and enables me to continue creating content like this. Thank you for the support!