Maybe you sent a message to the wrong person, or maybe you let your emotions get the best of you and sent a message you regret. Regardless your situation, thankfully Signal gives you a three-hour window of time after you send a message to delete it for all recipients. Additionally, you can also delete messages you just don’t want to see for just you in any conversation threads. Examples of all instructions in the steps can be seen in both the YouTube video above and the image collection located beneath the steps.
Steps to Delete Messages on Signal on iPhone, iPad or Android
- Launch the Signal app on your iPhone, iPad or Android device, and then navigate to the conversation with the message you want to delete.
- Hold your finger against the message you want to delete. Additional menu options will be displayed on the screen.
- Tap the “Delete” icon, which looks like a trash can. A dialog box is shown, asking who you want to delete this message for. You’ll always see the option to delete the message for you, but if you sent this message in the last three hours you’ll also see the option to delete it for everyone.
- In this example I’ll tap “Delete for Everyone” to remove the message from all recipient’s devices. The message will instantly be deleted, and you’ll see a message on your device that you deleted that message. Additionally, if you deleted a message for other users they’ll see a similar placeholder note in that space that the message that was previously there has been deleted.