Maybe you outgrew your Squarespace website, or didn’t like Squarespace, and migrated to a different website builder. Or, maybe your site didn’t work out and you just want to cancel your plan and take the site down. Thankfully, Squarespace makes it easy to cancel your plan and website. When you cancel your Squarespace site subscription your payments will immediately be stopped and your site will be taken offline. After 30 days your Squarespace website content will be fully deleted.
Some of the images associated with the steps are included inline below. All images associated with these steps can be seen in the embedded YouTube video. Also, please note that you’re not able to leave a comment directly on this article. If you have a question or feedback, please leave it on the YouTube video.
Steps to Cancel Squarespace Website Subscription
- Open a web browser, navigate to www.Account.Squarespace.com, and then log in to your Squarespace account if prompted.
- Find the Squarespace site you want to cancel your subscription for, and then click the ellipses associated with that site.
- Click “Billing” in this menu. You’ll land on the Billing screen.
- Make sure “Subscriptions” is selected in the menu on the left side of the screen, and then click “Website” in the list of active subscriptions on the right side of the screen.
- Navigate down to the Plan section, and then click “Cancel Subscription.” The Cancel Website Subscription screen is shown.
- Work through the next few screens to choose the reason why you’re cancelling your Squarespace subscription. Eventually you’ll land on a screen asking you to confirm your Squarespace website cancellation.
- Click “Confirm Cancellation.” You’ll see a note that your Squarespace website subscription has been cancelled and taken offline.
What Happens When You Cancel Your Squarespace Website Subscription?
There are important things you need to take into consideration when you cancel your Squarespace website:
1. Service Suspension
When you cancel your Squarespace subscription, your website will no longer have access to paid features and services, such as custom domains and advanced e-commerce tools. Your website will be suspended, but your content will remain intact.
2. Content and Data Retention
Squarespace retains your website content and data for a limited period of time after your subscription has ended. However, they have the right to delete your data if your account remains inactive for an extended period.
3. Domain Name Retention
If you purchased a custom domain through Squarespace, you can continue to use it for the duration of its registration. However, Squarespace reserves the right to reclaim inactive domains.
4. Email Service Discontinuation
If you have a Squarespace email account, it will be discontinued when your subscription ends. You’ll need to transfer your emails to a new provider or set up a new email account.
5. Reactivating Your Account
If you choose to reactivate your Squarespace account in the future, your content will still be available. However, you’ll need to subscribe to a new plan and pay the current rates for Squarespace’s services.