How to Backup Windows Files to Network Drive

Introduction

The Windows File History feature is a step back from the Backup and Restore feature in previous versions of Windows that will only back up the files you have stored in your Libraries, Desktop, Favorites and Contacts folders. Note that it does not create a system image that you can restore your computer from. Ideally you’ll want to store your Windows File History backups to an external drive (such as a network drive) so you can still access them in the event you can no longer get to the files on your computer. Examples of all instructions in the steps can be seen in the YouTube video below.

YouTube player

Steps to Backup Windows Files to Network Drive

  1. Click the “Windows” icon on the left side of your Windows taskbar. A menu appears.
  2. Click “Settings” in the menu. The Windows Settings screen is displayed.
  3. Click “Update and Security” in the Windows Settings screen. The Windows Update screen appears.
  4. Click “Backup” in the menu on the left side of the screen. The Backup screen appears.
  5. Click “More Options” beneath Add a Drive in the Back Up Using File History section. The Backup Options screen is displayed.
  6. Click “See Advanced Settings” in the Related Settings section. The Keep a History of Your Files screen appears.
  7. Click “Select Drive” in the menu on the left side of the screen. The Select a File History Drive screen is displayed.
  8. Click “Add Network Location.” The Select a Folder window appears. Navigate to the folder on the network drive you want to back your Windows computer files up to, and then click “Select Folder.” You’ll be routed back to the Select a File History Drive screen, where you’ll now see the path to the folder on your network drive you want to save your files to listed. Click “OK.” You’ll be routed back to the Keep a History of Your Files screen, where you’ll see the path to your network folder to the right of Copy Files To.
  9. Click “Turn On.” The window will change to say File History Is On, and a message will be displayed that File History is saving copies of your files for the first time.
  10. Click “Advanced Settings” in the menu on the left side of the screen. The Advanced Settings screen is displayed.
  11. In the Versions section, click the respective drop-downs to choose how frequently to save copies of files, and also how long you want to keep the different versions of files you create. Click “Save Changes” after making your changes. You’ll return to the Keep a History of Your Files screen. You can navigate to the network drive location where you chose to back your files up to at any time to see your files.

All Tutorial Categories

About Max

Max has nearly 20 years of experience working in IT across three different industries in project management and management capacities: publishing, telecommunications and healthcare. He holds the following degrees and certifications: BS Communications, MA Communications, MBA and Project Management Professional (PMP). His tutorial-focused YouTube channel earned more than 100,000 subscribers in its first four years, and currently has more than 160,000 subscribers, 110,000,000 video views and an insane 2.4 million hours of watch time. Max enjoys learning new technology, reading and collecting comic books, listening to audiobooks and playing video games.

This article contains affiliate links, which means that if you click one of the product links I may receive a small commission. This helps support my content, and enables me to continue creating content like this. Thank you for the support!