If your Signal conversation list is getting full, a simple solution is to archive your inactive chats. Archiving your Signal conversations doesn’t delete those discussions, but rather moves them to an archive in a separate location in the app. And if someone sends a message in any of your archived chats, that chat is moved out of the archive and back to your main conversation list. Alternatively if you decide you want to move an archived conversation back to your main chat list on your own, you can do that as well. In this article I’ll show you how to both archive and unarchive Signal conversations on an iPhone, iPad or Android device.
Some of the images associated with the steps are included inline below. All images associated with these steps can be seen in the embedded YouTube video. Also, please note that you’re not able to leave a comment directly on this article. If you have a question or feedback, please leave it on the YouTube video.
Steps to Archive a Signal Conversation on iPhone, iPad or Android
- Tap to launch the Signal app on your iPhone, iPad or Android device, and then navigate to the conversation you want to archive.
- If you’re using an iPhone or iPad, swipe slowly from right to left across that conversation to reveal options for that chat, one of which will be Archive. If you’re using an Android device, you’ll need to slowly swipe from right to left to reveal this menu.
- Tap “Archive.” That conversation will be removed from your conversation list automatically.
You can access your archived chats in Signal by scrolling to the bottom of your conversation list and tapping “Archived Chats.”
The Archive screen will be displayed and a list of your archived chats will be shown. Again, if a new message is received in any of your archived chats, that conversation will be removed from the Signal archive and re-added to your normal conversation list.
Steps to Unarchive a Signal Conversation on iPhone, iPad or Android
- Tap to launch the Signal app on your iPhone, iPad or Android device, and then scroll to the bottom of your conversation list where you’ll see Archived Chats.
- Tap “Archived Chats.” The Archive screen will be displayed, showing a list of your archived chats.
- Scroll through this list until you find the archived conversation you want to remove from the archive. If you’re on an iPhone or iPad swipe from right to left across that conversation to bring up a menu. If you’re using an Android device you’ll need to slowly swipe from left to right to display this menu. Tap “Unarchive” in this menu. That specific chat will be removed from the Signal archive and be re-added to your regular list of Signal conversations.